Yes, Can You Stick This Needle in My Face?

Most anyone who knows me, is aware that I’ve suffered from migraines for the majority of my life.  I get them three or four times a week, and the severity ranges from, “oh I can deal with this” to, “someone please, blow my head off now!”  I’ve been on every drug cocktail, tried ever holistic approach, and even begged God to just make them stop!

My friends and family send me articles about research and drugs, almost everyday.  Personally, with my vast knowledge on the subject, I think I deserve an honorary doctorate in migraine medicine.

Like I said before, none of my efforts have produced much pain relief.  Long story short, when my neurologist suggested Botox, I shuddered at the thought.  I had Bell’s Palsy as a child (the right side of my face was paralyzed), and I still have vivid memories of what it was like to go through early puberty that way.  The idea of revisiting that time in my life is horrifying.

But still, no matter how scared I was, I was desperate for something that would  work. In other words, I’ll try anything once.  So today, I went to the doctor, ready to hurl, as I sat waiting for him to get on with it.  Of course, before he could start he had to read of the list of warnings and things that could go terribly wrong, and all I could do was try to keep my jaw from hitting the ground.  Was I insane?  Even though I was ready to run, the syringes were full and he looked all too prepared to stick me. So I gritted my teeth and replied “Uh, Yeah”, when he asked if I was ready.

I ended up getting thirty-seven shots in my head, neck and shoulders.  Did it hurt?  Only four of the thirty-seven really made me flinch.  So it’s been a couple of hours and so far, no problems.  They say it takes a couple of days to see the full effects, and then you can’t repeat the procedure for three months.

I’m hoping at least, I’ll have fewer headaches, or that maybe they’ll be less painful.  If you have had Botox for pain, I’d love to hear your story.  Let me know how it worked for you.

I’ll keep ya’ll updated!

Cheers,

Monique O’Connor James

Author of The Keepers, Jamais Vu, Deja Vu, and The Mulligan Man published by Astraea Press.

Coming Summer 2012 – becoming Jolie published by Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing.

4 thoughts on “Yes, Can You Stick This Needle in My Face?

  1. Please read my blog starting with the “Premier Posting!” I think you will find that we have a lot in common! I too kept getting advice, and actually received an email today about the Botox injections, which I have tried and did not work. Hyperthyroidism can cause daily headaches…severe headaches. I kept testing “withing normal ranges” so they kept sending me to neurologists and pain clinics. There is a huge discrepancy in the medical profession as to what “normal ranges” are. I am seeing a endocrinologist that treats the PATIENT and the SYMPTOMS and not the numbers….Imagine that!
    If the Botox injections work for you I am glad. They just were not my cure. After beginning thyroid medication, my headaches are almost non existent! Please research this! It might be worth the time and effort!
    Angela Sigler
    headachesurvival.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

