Vaping….the new other woman.

For those of you who don’t know what vaping is, let me explain.  My husband has tried to quit smoking many times.  Once we went and had our ears treated with a laser, we’ve done patches, gum, lozenges, everything.  Let’s just say the addiction is worse than heroin and we have struggled.

A friend of my husband’s introduced him to E-cigarettes.  Who knew that there is an entire underground group of geeks that are so into this it consumes their lives.  I have to give the idea props.  My husband has not smoked a real cigarette since he started smoking this e-cig.  You are only getting nicotine, so all the bad stuff is left out.  I have to be happy because he’s not smoking….but….

Enter a new world of liquids (flavors), cartridges, atomizers, batteries, and all the modifications they can do to their e-cig to make it last longer and taste better.  I’m now subjected to days of listening to phrases like “Wow, that was a good vape”, “The throat hit wasn’t right on that one”, and “I found a new website that has cherry flavored liquid!”

Anytime I’ve tried to put the stupid thing up to my lips I hear this…”Did you get a good hit?”.  It makes me crazy.  I want to throw the stupid thing at him.  What’s worse is he has about three friends that are also “vaping”.  They are constantly on the phone, the internet, etc, comparing their e-cigs, vapes, liquids, batteries, etc.

I have decided that he is totally geeked out and that my husband may never come back from this.  I’m happy he isn’t smoking, but I’m not sure how long I can take the constant discussions about his e-cigs and all the equipment that goes with it.

Oh before I go, let me leave you with this….the bedtime ritual – this involves refilling cartridges, plugging in batteries, and making sure that the next day all his vaping needs will be met!

If I see one more YouTube video with a geek behind a desk smoking an e-cig I’m gonna explode!

Heh heh….here’s to all those battling to quit!

Monique O’Connor James

http://www.moniqueoconnorjames.com

5 thoughts on “Vaping….the new other woman.

  1. As an ex smoker of 3.5 years, I feel your pain my friend! My husband managed to quit smoking about 1.5 yrs before me. I waited it out to see what finally worked for him. I finally managed to quit using the lozenges. They were god awful tasting and burned my throat but they helped me get through it.

    I think the biggest motivator was my kids though. Seriously…they were at the age where smoking was evil and they should start planning my funeral (at the time I did not appreciate their “school learned talks” but boy I do now)! I enjoyed smoking. I really truly do. And after almost 4 years of being a non-smoker, I still dream about smoking. Sad huh?

    So I feel for your husband. I really truly do. If this is what helps him get through it, so be it! Put on your best smile and support the hell out of him. Then when he is not looking, go buy a new purse or new pair of shoes as your reward for not throwing these ecigs at him like you want to!!

    Good luck to you both!! *HUGS*

  2. Very interesting concept, though it seems like a lot of work. I smoke, though I’ve never had a problem giving it up. I mainly do it because of the habit of needing something to do with my hands. I know, mental issues much? lol. Great post 🙂

  3. Check with your local mental health group. There might be a support group of people like your husband or you, for that matter. In the meantime, I’ll stick to the real thing

  4. Yes, tell everyone you know to look on the web for e-cigs to see how big this business is,
    and how big the range is for these superb products is.

    What really gets my goat, though, are the growing number
    of posts in the major press saying how deadly they
    are. Apparently pharmaceutical companies – the makers of end-smoking aids are supporting an anti vaping battle – less so the tobacco companies (as
    you might assume) – as these tobacco producers are putting money into them.
    I can FEEL the health gains of e cigarettes. Just complaining –
    that there is always some hidden agenda with these faceless entities trying to
    prohibit electronic cigarettes … the EU
    people could do a lot more to help. This makes me cross.
    Thanks Vaping.the new other woman. | moniquejames.

Leave a Reply

