Mega Author Blog Hop: Ticket to Paradise – New Orleans, LA starts 5/16-5/23

You’ve arrived in New Orleans, Louisiana. Mais Cher, put you
foot up an relax, like dat. Welcome! My name is Monique and I will be your tour
guide, along with my world-famous, imaginary, alligator Clyde. (Some people
are, so strange.)

New Orleans is the home of Mardi Gras; Justin & Jess,
from The Keepers; and Clyde’s great
grand-niece, Chlotile.  While you’re in “The
Big Easy”, keep in mind, it was just about six years ago, when that mean ole’
woman, Katrina, tried to suck us off the map!

If you can wander down to Audubon Park and Zoo, there you can spend some time, with our local wild life, like nutria (a rat the size of a small horse), alligators, and a few critters we haven’t named, yet.  Clyde says it doesn’t matter…they all taste
like chicken. In the park, you can hang out, under the Spanish moss and oak trees,
which have been there longer than, perhaps, than Justin, has been around. Justin
sat, on one of the iron benches, here, when he was trying to win back the good favor, of his love, Jess.

Magazine Street, is just a few steps away (Clyde says he
slid on his belly quicker ‘an you could walk it.).  This area is also known, as the Irish
Channel, and here you’ll find a place to shop ‘til you drop. When you leave hop
the street car (that’s right – we don’t call ‘em trollies ’round here).

It’s just a short, seven mile ride, to The French Quarter.  Jess resides here, with all the
angels and demons.  Justin would want you
to spend some time, at St. Louis Cathedral.
Once you’ve gone to confession (Clyde goes often – mostly, for stealin’
chickens from other authors), you can hop outside, free of sin, and check out
the artists and street performers, around Jackson Square.

By now, you’re probably hungry, so head on down Iberville St. (Rue de Iberville to you natives), to Deanie’s Restaurant, where you can
get all the boiled crawfish and fried seafood you can eat.

Once it gets dark, in the Vieux Carre, hit the nightlife on
Bourbon Street. Clyde wants to warn you…be careful which clubs you wander,
into.  There are things far scarier on
Bourbon, than alligators.

We hope you enjoyed your trip to NOLA, and we hope you’ll my
new novel, “The Keepers”, due out June 7, 2011.

Blurb:   Jess hates
God.  In his infinite wisdom, he’s taken
away everyone she’s ever loved.  Moving,
to the French Quarter, was a ploy, to erase the guilt she felt, for rebuking
her faith.  Perhaps, if she hadn’t met
Justin, an angel preoccupied, with getting back in God’s good graces, and
drowning in his hatred for humanity – her plan would have worked.

Justin’s general disdain, for the human race, makes him
difficult to like, but some higher power, has appointed him, her keeper.  Justin is convinced he can mend her broken relationship with her maker, but in the process he learns, a thing or two,
about his own humanity.

Never-mind, falling in love, that’s not supposed to
happen.  In fact, it may be forbidden.
Jess wants Justin to understand, her plight, and he wants, to protect her from
a world she doesn’t know.

If neither is equipped to save the other, then whose soul
lives, and whose will perish?

Comment my page and I’ll put your name in a drawing. In order to qualify for the drawing, you have to visit each blog, on the bop hop.

Also, feel free to add me and like my author page.

www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=511255176

www.facebook.com/#!/pages/monique-oconnor-james-author/151581321573144

TOUR
RULES:
1)  HAVE
FUN!!!
2)  INVITE ALL OF YOUR
FRIENDS!!! SPREAD THE WORD!!!
3)  THIS TOUR STARTS:
Mon
day, May 16, at Midnight (Arizona
Time)
     THIS TOUR
ENDS: Monday, May 23, at Midnight
(Arizona
Time)
4)  MEET AND MINGLE WITH
ALL THE AUTHORS! EXPERIENCE A NEW DESTINATION AT EVERY STOP! PARTICIPATE IN
EVERY BLOG CONTEST AND BE ENTERED FOR CHANCES TO WIN MULTIPLE PRIZES! EVERY BLOG
VISITED IS ANOTHER OPPORTUNITY TO WIN!!
‎5) PARTICIPATION AT EVERY BLOG IS RECOMMENDED. BUT REMEMBER: THE MORE YOU HOP THE MORE CHANCES YOU HAVE TO WIN EVERY AUTHOR IS WAITING TO MEET AND INTERACT WITH YOU, SO PLEASE BE SURE TO SHOW EVERY AUTHOR SOME LOVE!
6) DID I MENTION TO HAVE
FUN?  WHOO! HOO!! HERE WE
GOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Prizes for participation, including: Grand Prize – PDF copy
of “The Keepers” (when it comes out on June 7, 2011); 1st prize –
angel wing earrings.

To continue to the next blog click here –  http://shadowsofromance.blogspot.com/2011/05/trip-around-world-mega-author-blog-hop.html say hello for me and Clyde!

Monique O’Connor James

www.moniqueoconnorjames.com

62 thoughts on “Mega Author Blog Hop: Ticket to Paradise – New Orleans, LA starts 5/16-5/23

  1. Hey Mo, I really enjoy reading about NOLA, its only just THE GREATEST place on earth……….We need to go visit the zoo real soon, hadn’t been in a few years heard they have a new splash park for the kiddos……

  2. New Orleans…top of my bucket list. I REALLY want to visit this old city, enjoy some real cajun food and chill to some jazz while strolling through the French Quarter. Blame Anne Rice LMAO I do.

  3. Well ma sha…. I felt like I was in N’Awlins just by reading your blog! Count me and the kiddos in for the zoo visit. So very proud of you and you are truely an inspiration for me. Thank you for everything! A big ole hug out to ya! XOXO

  4. I had the immense pleasure to visit New Orleans before Katrina. Such a gorgeous city! I really felt quite at home there. I was completely enchanted! I’d love to go back. There’s so much I wanted to see! Though, we did spend a fair amount on Bourbon Street! 🙂

    tricia(at)triciaschneider(dot)com

  5. Pingback: Visted New Orleans lately? If not check | moniquejames

  6. I would love to win a copy of your book because I live ten minutes from New Orleans! This city is such a great place to set a novel. So much history and romance!

    • I’d love for you to win one! Ya’ll add me to your FB so you can keep up with the releases…all my books are written in Southern Louisiana…well most of them…but all in the South for sure.

      • I’ll definitely add you! Even though I love this city, I always set my stories in other locations. I’m more inspired by places further from home for some reason!

  7. Pingback: Visted New Orleans lately? Check out wha | moniquejames

  8. awesome blog i always wanted to go there for mardi gras for real just to experience it once

    babydoll82959307(at)aol(dot)com

  9. Great pictures, great blog. Thanks for sharing your destination. I love the picture of the big o’ croc btw. Made me smile. Something about them…course…wouldn’t be smiling much if I were very close to one, prolly saturate my pants. LOL

    Best wishes,
    Allure

  10. I have lived within an hour or so from New Orleans all my life. I never get tired of visiting the city. The food is delicious. The music is happy, and the people are like family.

    koonie2888 at yahoo dot com

  11. New Orleans is a place a want to visit for a month just to see everything there is to see… This year I made a Mardi Gras quilt for my sister because she loves New Orleans and has gone a few times when her and my Mother in law travel we were supposed to go this year but things came up. so I’m hoping next year we will be going :)~ if you would like to see the quilt its on my fb page http://www.facebook.com/Dragonflynight hope you enjoy if you take a look at all there is to see on my page ^_~.

  12. Clyde looks very scarey! I hope his smile is worse than his bite! Congrats on the release of your book. I look forward to reading it.

  13. Pictures are awesome! I’ve always wanted to go to New Orleans, maybe someday *sigh*. Your book looks great, can’t wait!

    Morganlafey86(at)aol(dot)com

  14. Great post! New Orleans must be very beautiful place and has great history. I wish someday I would be able to visit New Orleans.
    Thanks for the tour!

  15. Hi!

    Lovely, amazing, wonderful place!!! I’m in LOVE with New Orleans!!!
    Believe me, as soon as I step on the USA I will run until I reach your wonderful city, and if it is during Mardi Gras… then I’d just day of happiness!!!
    Sorry, I’m just too excited^^U But thanks for the lovely tour, really.

    I already added you on FB, hehe.

    sontrei2000@yahoo.com.br

  16. Hi, Monique.

    I visited New Orleans about 15 years ago. I think I left a part of my heart there. I still have grand dreams of returning; maybe one of these days!

    I liked the blurb for The Keepers; it sounds great.

    Thanks,
    booklover0226 at gmail dot com

  17. I’m starting this tour late, but maybe I can make it all around & I love reading about new books! I’d love to visit New Orleans – family members have been & all had great things to say.

    sallans d at yahoo dot com

Leave a Reply

